Monday Wrap-Up! #IMWAYR ~ “Someone Like You”

816953

Summary: Halley and Scarlett are truly best friends and have been for a long time. Halley has always felt that she’s “followed” Scarlett through life. She sees her as the strong one of the two, or the girl that “has it all.” They know every little thing about one another, and when Scarlett finds out she is pregnant, Halley tries to be there for her. Scarlett needs her, especially considering the father of the baby has died in an accident. Halley comes home from camp to support her friend, but she finds she has her own problems and life to deal with.

3f8a5e55a9a26d77512c016d674a7073

Review: I thought this book was a great, easy read. Yet another book by Dessen that I really enjoyed! I am a fan of her books! This semester we discussed how important it is for students to be able to relate to characters and the plot of a book. In my opinion, this novel is a great example of a story line that might not be a fairy tale, but one that a teen could very well live in real life.

4 thoughts on “Monday Wrap-Up! #IMWAYR ~ “Someone Like You”

  1. Another point for Dessen! I absolutely love her books, they’re so fun and relatable! I can definitely relate with Halley. I remember “following” my friends around and not really having my own identity. Sometimes it can really hit hard, especially when that person is constantly in trouble. You want to live for yourself, but sometimes that other person really needs you.

    Like

Leave a comment